Paige NSW Government Graduate

Paige

University of Wollongong
Graduate
Page studied Bachelor of Science majoring in Psychology at University of Wollongong.

What attracted you to the NSW Government Graduate Program?

I was really drawn to the program because of the three rotations. There was huge appeal in being able to try different facets of Government. It felt like getting the best of both worlds, the opportunity to experience multiple roles with a guaranteed position at the end of 18 months.

What advice would you give a graduate who is thinking about applying for the Program?

Familiarise yourself with the capability framework, as it’s such a pivotal part of how the NSW public sector operates. You get hired on the basis that you are capable of performing a role, not on having perfectly aligned experience or your degree. It’s a really refreshing approach to recruitment.

What is your current job title and in which Department or agency within the NSW Government sector are you currently placed?

I am working as a Graduate Human Resources Advisor with the Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART).

What is the current focus of what you are working on?

In my first few weeks at IPART, I've already had the opportunity to work on some really interesting projects: rolling out updated internal policies, revamping role descriptions and doing my first ever recruitment work. 

What is your favourite part of your role?

I’m really enjoying working in a small team within a small agency, because I get to do such a great variety of work. When your team is made up of only four or five people, it’s really easy to say “can I get involved in that project?” Chances are every project needs all hands on deck!

Name a strength that you bring to the workplace?

I always endeavour to contribute a ‘can-do’ attitude to the workplace. There has never been a task that I’ve turned down. It’s an important part of being a team player - no task is too big or too small for me to get involved in. The key to making that work is to ask lots of questions to help you understand the big picture. Saying “sure, I can work on that, can you tell me why we’re approaching it this way?” helps me to understand the project and achieve the best outcomes.

What value have you drawn from your mentor and sponsor relationships?

My mentor has been such a huge support during this program. It’s been wonderful to have someone from whom you can ask the tough questions, who gives impartial advice. My mentor is an inspiring, intelligent young woman and it’s been very cool to see her success and think ‘maybe that’s in my future’. She’s really helped me to turn my failures into lessons and to realise how far I’ve come in just over a year.

What is the best thing about finishing full-time study?

When you get home from work, your time is your own! Except for the never-ceasing responsibilities of adulthood, of course...

What do you do for fun on the weekend?

Binge on a lot of my favourite TV shows, read a lot of books and catch up with my friends and family. I love heading back down to the South Coast to escape the city for a few days.

What is your favourite meal?

Anything that involves bread. I’m pretty fond of breakfast foods at all times of day.